Why should health center patients and staff vote?

Why should health center patients and staff vote? This is the question Community Health Vote Poster Contest participants are being asked to answer. Marc Wetherhorn, NACHC’s Director of National Advocacy, announced on the May 22 Tele Forum that in an effort to encourage health center communities to get out the vote, Community Health Vote is sponsoring a national poster contest.

>>Missed the Tele Forum? Click here to download a recording of the May 22, 2012, Community Health Vote Tele Forum with special guests Dr. Jack Geiger, co-founder of the health center movement, and Bob Brandon, President of the Fair Elections Legal Network, to learn more about the importance of health centers participating in voter engagement!

Health center supporters are encouraged to create a poster compelling health center patients and staff to vote, and the winning posters will be professionally printed and distributed to every health center in the nation! Entries can be submitted in any size format and NACHC will work with the winners and the poster vendor to have the winning submissions turned into posters for print.

Posters can include, but are not limited to, photos, text, graphics or drawings – anything that artistically and compellingly encourages health center patients and staff to vote. Entries in English and Spanish are encouraged; one English language and one Spanish language poster will each be selected as winners.

Speaking of winners…let’s talk prizes! In addition to winning posters being printed and distributed to health centers across the nation, creators of the posters receiving the most votes (one English and one Spanish poster) will each receive:

  • One (1) Community Health Vote button
  • Recognition of your poster at the 2013 Community Health Institute
  • Recognition in NACHC’s Forum magazine
  • For creators who choose to attend NACHC’s 2013 Policy & Issues Forum, one (1) spot in NACHC’s Advocacy Leadership Program, a $75 value

So what are you waiting for? Start creating your poster! Hurry, all poster contest entries must be received no later than 5pm PST / 6pm MST / 7pm CST / 8pm EST on Friday, June 29, 2012. Click here to access the online entry form and to read full contest details and rules.

 

Leave a Reply